What is the Maltese Lira (MTL)?

The Maltese lira (also known as pound) was the currency for Malta until 2008 when it was replaced by the euro.

The currency code for Maltese lira is MLT. The currency symbol used is ₤ and Lm.

The Maltese lira was first seen in 1825 but officially from 1972. The British pound circulated in Malta along with the Maltese lira until 1986.