What is the Swiss National Bank (SNB)?

The Swiss National Bank (SNB) is the central bank for Switzerland and was first established in 1907 and has such responsibilities as being the governments bank and lender, overseeing monetary policy, managing Switzerland’s gold reserves and the printing and issuing of its currency since 1910.


The Bank Council is responsible for overseeing and controlling the conduct of business by the Swiss National Bank. The Bank Council is made up of eleven members.

President of the Bank Council

Vice President of the Bank Council

9 Members of the Bank Council


The Governing Board is responsible for setting monetary policies. The Governing Board is made up of three members.


Vice Chairman

1 Member